Books Read in March

5 books read in March. although there are some new authors in there it has been great to revisit a few known and loved authors too.

The Haunting of Highdown Hall (Psychic surveys #1) by Shani Struthers

New to me, it’s basically about a woman who has a gift as a medium and has her own business with a small team, Psychic surveys, using their gifts and strengths to help others who are being haunted or to help spirits move on. Ruby comes from a line of mediums and although there were a few things I disagreed with I enjoyed this book.  May even look for the next in series.  I get the feeling that if I don’t look another one up soon though I will just forget about it. Although a good storyline etc it just didn’t have enough to grab my attention fully.

Wild Chamber (Bryant & May, #14) by Christopher Fowler

Oh my! I ‘read’ this on audiobook as I sewed in March.  The narrator almost had me return the book and give up on it. Luckily I am a stubborn person and persevered in the mystery of the woman killed in a private park in London and the tale leading up to the murder, during and after it.   If you like Sherlock Holmes style mysteries in modern days I would think you would enjoy this book. Am keen to read the rest of the books in this series but in a text format, I really do not think I could stand another whole bok read in this way to me

Kindness, The little thing that matters most by Jaime Thurston

Another audiobook. Kindness is something that is often missing in todays times. The author has a facebook group and in this short book gives us 52 ways to be kind or practice kindness. It’s an interesting read and great idea to get kindness out there a bit more. A lot of the idea were not new to me.

City of Ashes ( The mortal instruments #2) by Cassandra Clare

It’s been ages since I read the first installment to this so was keen to dive in and continue the saga I had started a while ago with Clary who in the last book discovered she was a shadow hunter and by doing so has discovered there’s a lot more to life than she knew about including werewolves, vampires and magicians. And a new brother and father she knew nothing about. Great read.

What the night knows, by Dean Koontz

I thought I had read this but hadn’t at all. I have a love/hate relationship with Deans books they are great to read and his imagination is brilliant. Then the endings often seem cut off way to fast and as if he got bored with them and jst decided it’s finished now so lets sum this up in as short a way as we can.

John Calvino as a 14 year old killed the killer Alton Blackwood Turner upon discovering he had killed John’s family. 20 years later John has a family of his own and is a policeman. He also come’s to the realisation that somehow Alton Blackwood Turner maybe killing again! Read the book and for once wasn’t annoyed over the ending.

And as April starts I am reading Jurassic Park. Seen the film many times so this could be a hit or miss we shall see.

Julie