Birthday, bubbles, fun and thoughts

Birthdays have never been an easy thing for me and there were some where I swore I would never celebrate another but they get easier. Today started wonderfully and although I am so tired I could sleep for England as a national sport it carried on being just as great.

I woke to this beautiful flowers.  I waited until this afternoon to open my cards with family around me and have so many wonderful cards to remind me I am thought of by so many 🙂

My lovely, amazing Daughter said she would be round after school with her girls so I decided cake was needed, feeling wrung out I decided to buy not make one, and ended up with this concoction. The idea was I didn’t know about it and my hubby took the kids out in the kitchen to light the candles and organise the happy birthday singing etc. It added to the magic for them as well as made sure I had cake on hand to enjoy.  Crafty thinking huh?

While we were out first thing we saw a bubble machine and who can resist bubbles? As well as the bubble machine going we had bubble wands and swords out so bubbles of all sizes in the garden. Giggles and delighted screams were heard. And no it wasn’t just the kids out there playing we all were.  I was out chasing those bubbles and enjoying it just as much.

img_4337img_4333-1

And to finish my day off perfectly my older son came round and surprised me with my daughter in law too.

Presents were amazing and thoughtful and the company was brilliant.  Couldn’t have asked for a better day. Loved ones, cake, love and laughter perfect recipe for a lovely day.

Morris men and Morris dancers have been mentioned a fair bit today and the days leading up to it. In our village, they dance in the square every May 1st. As a child, my Dad once said they danced because it was my birthday and I believed him for many years. Back in my day, we did Morris dancing and square dancing in school as young children.  Even with sticks to bash against everyone elses sticks. One boy commented on the stupidness of Morris dancing and I pointed out it wasn’t stupid and it was because of my birthday we were doing Morris Dancing like the Morris dancers on May 1st. This quickly escalated to a heated disagreement and my stick almost being bashed very forcefully against something it shouldn’t have been bashed against! After all, if my Dad said it it must be true right? I must have been all of 6 or 7 then I think. If you were that boy I apologise wholeheartedly for the argument but I still choose to believe they dance in honour of my birthday it’s to much of a coincidence.

I’ve sewed today, sung loudly along to my favourite spotify playlist, slept a bit, knitted and spent time with my most favourite people in the world so I am happy.  And, that made me start thinking that happiness shouldn’t just be a few times a year. If I want to play with bubbles or sing loudly and dance then I should do it more not just wait for occasions. I’ve reached 47, and believe me that’s a miracle in itself, so now I am going to make sure that every day that follows I make each day count and do more that makes me happy.

Take care

Julie